From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

*Laws of Her Majesty's Province of United Canada,* passed in the year 1854. Quebec: Stewart Derbishire and George Desbarts, 1854.

18 Victoria – Chapter 76

## An Act to amend the Parliamentary Representation Act of 1855. Assented to 19th Map, 1855.

Whereas expedient, for greater convenience, to amend the Act passed in the sixteenth year of Her Majesty's Reign, intituled, *An Act to enlarge the Representation of the People of this Province of Parliament*: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, *An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada*, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, as follows:

I. The County of Yamaska, in addition to the several places now comprised therein, shall hereafter also include the Gore of Upton in the Parish of St. Thomas de Pierreville, hereby detached from the County of Drummond.

II. The County of Drummond shall comprise all the places now included therein, except the said Gore of Upton annexed as aforesaid to the County of Yamaska, and the eighth Range of the Township of Union hereby annexed to the County of Bagot.

III. The County of Bagot, in addition to the several places now comprised therein, shall also include the eighth range of the Township of Upton.

IV. The County of Two Mountains, in addition to the several places now comprised therein (except, as hereinafter excepted), shall hereafter also include the Parishes of Sainte Placide and of St. Hemas hereby detached from the County of Argenteuil, but shall not hereafter include those parts of the Township of Morin and of the Parish of Saint Jerome which are hereby annexed to the County of Argenteuil.

V. The County of Argenteuil, in addition to the several places now comprised therein (except as hereinafter excepted), shall hereafter also include that part of the Township of Morin which lies to the South-west of the line between lots numbers twenty-four and twenty-five of all the ranges thereof, and that part of the Parish of Saint Jerome which comprises the Côte Saint Joseph, Saint Eustache, Sainte Marguerite and Sainte Angelique, but shall net hereafter include the Parishes of Sainte Placide and of St. Hermas hereby annexed to the County of Two Mountains.

VI. The County of Soulanges shall hereafter comprise all the places now included therein, except that part of the Township of Newton and the augmentation adjacent, which are hereby annexed to the County of Vaudreuil.

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

VII. The County of Vaudreuil, in addition to all the places now comprised therein, shall hereafter also include the fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth ranges of the Township of Newton and the adjacent augmentation, so that all the said Township of Newton audits augmentations shall be hereafter included in the said County of Vaudreuil.

VIII. The County of Laval shall hereafter comprise all the places now included therein except Isle Bizard, designated in the Act hereinbefore cited as *Isle Bizarre*, and hereby annexed to the Jacques Cartier Riding of the County of Montreal.

IX. The Jacques Cartier Riding, of the County of Montreal, in addition to the places now comprised therein, shall hereafter also include the said Isle Bizard.

X. The County now called the County of Tadousac shall hereafter be known and designated as the County of Saguenay.

XI. The County now called the County of Saguenay shall hereafter be known and designated as the County of Charlevoix.

XII. The County now called the County of Sherbrooke shall hereafter be known and designated as the County of Richmond.

XIII. The East Riding of the County of Missisquoi shall hereafter form a separate Electoral County under the name and designation of the County of Brome.

XIV. The West Riding of the County of Missisquoi shall hereafter form a separate Electoral County under the name and designation of the County of Missisquoi.

XV. The Jacques Cartier Riding of the County of Montreal shall hereafter form a separate Electoral County under the name and designation of the County of Jacques Cartier.

XVI. The Hochelaga Riding of the County of Montreal shall hereafter form a separate Electoral County under the name and designation of the County of Hochelaga.

XVII. In citing the Act hereby amended in other Acts of Parliament, or in any Instrument, Document or Proceeding, it shall be sufficient to use the expression "The Parliamentary Representation Act of 1853," and in citing in like manner the present Act, it shall be sufficient to designate it as "The Parliamentary Representation Amendment Act of 1855."