From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of Her Majesty's Province of United Canada, passed in the year 1852. Quebec: Stewart Derbishire and George Desbarts, 1852.

16 Victoria – Chapter 226

An Act to divide the Townships of Yonge and Escott in the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville. Assented to 14th June, 1853.

Whereas the Townships of Yonge and Escott, in the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville, for some time previous to the tenth day of February, one thousand eight hundred and forty-five, formed one Township, and since that period have been disunited; And whereas divers Inhabitants of the said Townships of Yonge and Escott have represented by their Petition, that on account of the geographical position of the said Townships, much inconvenience is felt in conducting public business, and have prayed that the said Townships may be divided as hereinafter mentioned; And whereas it is desirable to grant the prayer of such Petition: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That upon, from and after the first day of January next after the passing of this Act, the sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth and eleventh Concessions of the Township of Yonge, and the seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth Concessions of the Township of Escott, shall, for all Municipal and Election purposes, be united together, and form a Township, to be called the "Rear of Yonge and Escott," and that the remainder of the said Townships of Yonge and Escott, together with the Islands in the River St. Lawrence, at present forming part of these Townships, shall, for the like purposes, be together united and form a Township, to be called the "Front of Yonge and Escott."

- II. And be it enacted, That the Polls to be taken for the said Townships respectively at any Election of a Member or Members to serve for the County or Riding within which the same are situate, in the Legislative Assembly of this Province, shall be held and taken at such place, in the said Townships respectively, as the same would have been held had this Act been passed and in force before and at the time of the introduction into the Parliament of this Province of the Act of the Parliament thereof, passed during its present Session, intituled, *An Act to enlarge the Representation of the People of this Province in Parliament*.
- III. And be it enacted, That for the purposes of the Municipal Election next after the passing of this Act, the Town Clerk for Escott shall act as Returning Officer for the Front of Yonge and Escott, and the Town Clerk for Yonge shall act as Returning Officer for the Rear of Yonge and Escott; and that such Town Clerks respectively shall procure for these purposes the necessary copies of so much of the Collectors' Rolls of the present Townships of Yonge and Escott as shall relate to the inhabitants of the said Townships as divided by this Act, and that the present divisions of the said Township of Yonge into Wards shall, from and after the thirty-first day of December next, be

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

abolished; and the next Municipal Election for the Front of Yonge and Escott shall be held at Mallory town, and that for the Rear of the said Townships, at Farmersville.