From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of Her Majesty's Province of Upper Canada, passed in the year 1849. Montreal: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1849.

12 Victoria – Chapter 98

An Act to divide the Township of Cayuga, in the District of Niagara, into two Townships. 25th April, 1849.

Whereas the Municipal Council of the District of Niagara have by their Petition prayed that the Township of Cayuga in the said District, be divided into two Townships in the manner hereinafter mentioned, and by reason of the extent of the said Township, it is expedient so to divide the same: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, *An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada,* and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That from and after the thirty-first day of December next, the said Township of Cayuga shall be and is hereby divided for all purposes whatsoever into two Townships, the one to be called the Township of South Cayuga, and the other to be called the Township of North Cayuga; and the said Township of South Cayuga shall consist of and include all that part of the present Township of Cayuga lying on the south side of the Grand River, and to the south-east of the block of lands called Jones' Tract; and the said Township of North Cayuga shall consist of and include the remainder of the present Township.