From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of Her Majesty's Province of Upper Canada, passed in the year 1849. Montreal: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1849.

12 Victoria – Chapter 96

An Act to divide the District of Huron, in the Province of Canada, and for other purposes therein mentioned. 30th May, 1849.

Whereas from the great extent of the District of Huron as at present constituted, and the consequent distance of some parts of it from the District Town, the inhabitant of those parts suffer great inconvenience; And whereas also, from the vastly increasing population and agricultural advancement thereof, it is expedient that the said District should be divided, and certain portions of the same should be set off and erected into new and separate Counties, to remain united to that of Huron until they shall be disunited under the provisions of the Act passed in the present Session, and intituled, An Act for abolishing the Territorial Division of Upper Canada into Districts, and for providing for Temporary Unions of Counties for judicial and other purposes, and for the future dissolutions of such Unions as the increase of wealth and population may require: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, An Act to reunite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That for all purposes of the Act cited in the Preamble to this Act, the County of Huron shall be divided into three Counties, to be called respectively, the County of Huron, the County of Perth, and the County of Bruce: and the county of Perth shall include and consist of the Townships of Blanchard, Hibbert, Fullarton, Logan, Downie, (including the Gore of Downie,) Ellice, Easthope North, Easthope South, (including the town of Stratford,) Elma and Wallace, in the now County of Huron, and Mornington in the now County of Waterloo; the County of Bruce shall include and consist of the Townships of Huron, Kinloss, Culross, Carrick, Kincardine, Greenock, Brant, Bruce, Saugeen, Elderslie and Arran; and the County of Huron shall include and consist of all the remainder of the now County of Huron (including the Town of Goderich,) but the said three Counties of Huron, Perth and Bruce shall remain united and form a Union of Counties for all the purposes of the Act last aforesaid, until such Union be dissolved in the manner provided in the said Act.

II. And be it enacted, That all that Peninsular Tract of Land lying to the northward of the Townships of Derby, Arran and Saugeen, and between Lake Huron and the Georgian Bay, and known as the Indian Reserve, together with every Island in Lake Huron or the Geogian Bay, any portion of which lie within ten miles of the shore of the said Peninsular Tract of Land, (unless such Island shall lie further south than the northern boundary line of the said Townships of Derby, Arran and Saugeen,) shall be annexed to and form part of the County of Waterloo: and that every such Island in Lake Huron as shall lie further south than the said boundary line, shall form part of such of the said Counties of Huron or Bruce respectively as such Island shall lie most adjacent to.

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

- III. And whereas the population of the said County of Perth exceeds twelve thousand, and from its geographical position it is expedient that provision be made for its separation from the said Union without waiting till its population shall be such as is required by the tenth section of the said Act recited in the Preamble to this Act: Be it therefore enacted, That the said County of Perth shall, for all the purposes of the Act last aforesaid, be considered and dealt with as if a Proclamation had issued under the ten section of the said Act, naming the Town of Stratford as the County Town thereof and erecting the Townreeves of the said County then elected or thereafter to be elected for the same, into a Provisional Municipal Council for the said County, and declaring such Municipal Council a Provisional Municipal Council for the same under the said Act, until the dissolution of the Union of the said County with the Counties of Huron and Bruce; and the said Townreeves shall accordingly be a Provisional Municipal Council for the said County of Perth, and shall have and exercise all the powers by the said Act vested in any such Provisional Municipal Council.
- IV. And be it enacted, That when the Union of the said County of Perth and Counties of Huron and Bruce shall be dissolved in the manner provided by the Act aforesaid, a Registrar shall be appointed for the said County of Perth, and a Registry Office for the Registration of Deeds shall be kept in and for the same at the County Town thereof, in the same manner and under the same provisions as in other Counts in Upper Canada.
- V. And be it enacted, That this Act shall have force and effect upon, from and after the first day of January, in the year of Our Lord, one thousand eight hundred and fifty, and not before.