From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of Her Majesty's Province of Upper Canada, passed in the year 1849. Montreal: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1849.

12 Victoria – Chapter 124

An Act to divide the County of Lotbinière into two Municipalities. 25th April, 1849.

Whereas the Councillors elected for the Parishes of St. Sylvester, St. Giles and St. Agathe, in the Municipality of the County of Lotbinière, under the Act passed in the Session held in the tenth and eleventh years of Her Majesty's Reign, and intituled, An Act to make better provision for the establishment of Municipal Authorities in Lower Canada, frequently find it impossible, from the remoteness of the said Parishes and the want of easy means of communication, to attend the sittings of the Municipal Council, which are held in the Parish of St. Croix, the chief place in the said Municipality, and for remedying this inconvenience it is expedient to divide the said County into two Municipalities: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That from and after the first Saturday in July next, after the passing of this Act, the said County of Lotbinière shall be divided into and shall form Two Separate and Distinct Divisions, of which the first shall consist of the Parishes of St. Antoine, St. Croix, St. Flavien, Lotbinière, and St. Jean, with their Augmentations; and the second shall consist of the Parishes of St. Sylvester, St. Giles, and St. Agathe, with their Augmentations; and each of the said Divisions shall be a Municipality in the same manner as any County Municipality constituted by the Act above mentioned, and shall have, exercise and possess within the limits hereby assigned to it, all and every the corporate and other powers given and granted by the said Act to County' Municipalities; and the first of the said Divisions shall be known by the corporate name of The Municipality of the County of Lotbinière, Number One, and the place of holding the meetings of the Municipal Council of the said Division shall be at St. Croix; and the second of the said Divisions shall be known by the corporate name of The Municipality of the County of Lotbinière, Number Two, and the place of holding the meetings of the Municipal Council of the said Division shall be at St. Giles.

II. And be it enacted, That upon, from and after the first Saturday in July next, after the passing of this Act, all the Councillors now elected for the said Municipality of the County of Lotbinière shall go out of office, and the said Municipality shall be dissolved and cease; and the first election of Councillors for the Municipalities hereby erected shall be had on the second Monday of July next, and all the provisions of the Act mentioned in the Preamble to this Act shall apply to the Municipalities hereby erected, as if the said county of Lotbinière had been divided by the said Act into two Municipalities in the manner in which it is hereby so divided, and as if the said second Monday in July next were the day appointed in and by the said Act for the first election of Councillors for the said Municipalities.

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

III. And be it enacted, That all By-laws of the Municipal Council of the now existing Municipality of the said Council shall remain in full force and effect as By-laws of each of the said new Municipalities respectively, until altered or repealed by any By-law to be passed by the said Municipalities respectively, and all moneys in the hands of the Secretary-Treasurer of the said Municipality shall, after paying therefrom all debts due by the said Municipality, be divided between the said two Municipalities in proportion to the amount levied in each respectively.