From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of Her Majesty's Province of United Canada, passed in the year 1846. Montreal: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1846.

9 Victoria – Chapter 46

An Act to amend the Act for defining the Limits of Counties and Districts in Upper Canada. 23rd May, 1846.

Whereas it is necessary to amend the Schedule B, to the Act passed during the now last Session of this Parliament, and intituled, An Act for better defining the limits of the Counties and Districts in Upper Canada, for erecting certain new Townships, for detaching Townships from some Counties and attaching them to others, and for other purposes relative to the division of Upper Canada into Townships, Counties and Districts: Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council, and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and intituled, An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That so much of the said Schedule B as defines the limits of the Counties of Carleton and Grenville, respectively, and the Townships and places which they shall include and of which they shall consist, shall be repealed; and that the Schedule to this Act annexed shall be substituted in lieu thereof, and the said in part recited Act shall be construed as if the Schedule to this Act had formed part of the said Schedule B.

Schedule.

Counties.

Carleton—Which shall include and consist of the Townships of Fitzroy, Goulbourn, that part of North Gower on the north side of the Rideau River, Gloucester, Huntly, March, Marlborough, Nepean, Osgoode, and Torbolton, and, except for the purposes of representation in the Legislative Assembly, the Town of Bytown.

Grenville—Which shall include and consist of the Townships of Augusta, Edwardsburg, South Gower, Oxford, Wolford, and that part of North Gower lying on the south side of the River Rideau, which shall be attached to and form part of the Township of South Gower.