From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

The Provincial Statutes of Canada, passed in the year 1843. Kingston: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1843.

7 Victoria – Chapter 39

An Act to divide the Township of Hawkesbury, in the Ottawa District, into two Townships. 9th December, 1843.

Whereas the Inhabitants of the Township of Hawkesbury, in the Ottawa District, have, by their Petition to the Legislature, represented, that by reason of the extent and the peculiar local circumstances of the said Township, it would be of advantage that the same should be divided into two Townships in the manner hereinafter mentioned, and it is expedient to grant the prayer of the said Petitioners; Be it therefore enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Maiesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, intituled, An Act to re-unite the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, and for the Government of Canada, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, that the said Township of Hawkesbury shall be and is hereby divided for all purposes whatsoever, into two Townships, the one to be called the Township of East Hawkesbury, and the other to be called the Township of West Hawkesbury; and the said Township of East Hawkesbury shall include and consist of all that part of the present Township of Hawkesbury lying between the Eastern boundary thereof and the Western line of the Lots Number Thirty-Seven in each of the Concessions from the River Ottawa to the rear Line of the said Township; and the remainder of the said Township shall form the said Township of West Hawkesbury.