From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of His Majesty's Province of Upper Canada, passed in the year 1857. Toronto: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1857.

20 Victoria – Chapter 133

## An Act to divide the Township of Halifax into two separate Townships. Assented to 10th June, 1857.

Whereas the Township of Halifax, in the County of Megantic, is divided by a range of Mountains, and it is therefore expedient to divide it into two Townships according to the said natural division thereof: Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

- I. The lots numbers seventeen to twenty-eight both inclusive, in every range of the said Township of Halifax, shall, from and after the first day of January next, form a separate Township and local Municipality, under the name of the Township of North Halifax, and shall have all the rights, powers and privileges of a separate Township Municipality, under the Lower Canada Municipal and Road Act of 1855, and any Act amending it.
- II. The remaining part of the Township of Halifax shall, on, from, and after the day last aforesaid, form a separate Township and local Municipality, under the name of the Township of South Halifax, with the rights, powers and privileges aforesaid.
- III. The present debts and obligations of the former Township of Halifax shall be assumed by the two townships hereby constituted, and shall be chargeable upon them in equal proportions, each one half.
- IV. This Act shall be deemed a Public Act.