From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

*Laws of His Majesty's Province of Upper Canada,* passed in the year 1857. Toronto: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1857.

20 Victoria – Chapter 114

## An Act to divide the Township of Fredericsburgh in the County of Lennox, into two separate Municipalities. Assented to 10th June, 1857.

Whereas the public convenience of the inhabitants of the Township of Fredericsburgh, in the County of Lennox, would be promoted by a division of that Township into two separate Municipalities: Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

I. Upon and alter the first day of January next after the passing of this Act, all that part of the present Township of Fredericsburgh lying to the south of Hay Bay, including the third concession east of Hay Bay, shall be set apart and form a separate Township Municipality, to be called the Township of South Fredericsburgh; and the remainder of the said present Township shall continue to form a separate Township Municipality under the name of the Township of North Fredericsburgh.

II. For the purposes of the Municipal election to be held in the said Township of South Fredericsburgh next after the passing of this Act, the County Council of the United Counties of Lennox and Addington shall, at its first Session immediately after the passing of this Act, appoint a Returning Officer, and the said election shall be held at Lucas's Inn.

III. The provisions of the Upper Canada Municipal Corporations Act of 1849, as respects the separation of Townships, shall apply to the Township of North Fredericsburgh and South Fredericsburgh, the last named being deemed the Junior Township; t Provided al ways, that the share of the Clergy Reserve Fund already distributed or to be distributed, and which shall at the passing of this Act remain in the hands of the Municipality of the present Township of Fredericsburgh, invested or otherwise, and unappropriated to any special Township purpose, shall belong to and be equally divided between the Townships of North Fredericsburgh and South Fredericsburgh.

IV. This Act shall be deemed a Public Act.