From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

*Laws of His Majesty's Province of Upper Canada,* passed in the year 1857. Toronto: Stewart Derbishire & George Desbarats, 1857.

20 Victoria – Chapter 113

## An Act to divide the Township of Whitby in the County of Ontario, into two separate Municipalities. Assented to 10th June, 1857.

Whereas the public convenience of the inhabitants of the township of Whitby would be promoted by a division of that Township into two separate Municipalities: Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

I. Upon and after the first day of January next after the passing of this Act, that part or portion of the present Township of Whitby, from Lots one to seventeen inclusive, from the shore of Lake Ontario to the rear of the Township, shall beset apart, and shall form a separate Municipality to be called the Township of East Whitby.

II. For the purposes of the Municipal election to be held in the said Township of East Whitby next after the passing of this Act, the County Council of the County of Ontario shall at its first session immediately after the passing of this Act, appoint a Returning Officer, and the said election shall be held at the Village of Columbus.

III. The provisions of the Upper Canada Municipal Corporations Act of 1849, as respects the separation of Townships shall apply to the Township of Whitby and East Whitby: Provided always, that the share of the Clergy Reserve Fund already distributed or to be distributed, and which shall at the passing of this Act remain in the hands of the Municipality of the Township of Whitby, invested or otherwise, and unappropriated to any special Township purpose, shall belong to and be equally divided between the Townships of Whitby and East Whitby.

IV. This Act shall be deemed a Public Act.