From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of His Majesty's Province of Upper Canada in North America, passed in the year 1824. York: Charles Fothergill, 1824.

5 George IV – Chapter 5

Act to Divide the County of Carleton, in the Bathurst District. Passed Jan. 19th, 1824.

Whereas the great extent of the County of Carleton, and the rapid increase of its population, render a Division thereof necessary and expedient:—

Be It Therefore Enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of the Province of Upper-Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of, and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of Great Britain, entitled, "An Act to Repeal certain parts of an Act passed in the fourteenth year of His Majesty's Reign, entitled, 'An Act for making more effectual Provision for the Government of the Province of Quebec, in North America, and to make further Provision for the Government of the said Province;" and by the authority of the same.— That from and alter the passing of this Act, the ninth clause of an Act passed in the the thirty-eighth year of His Late Majesty's Reign, entitled, "An Act for the Better Division of the Province," also so much of the tenth clause of the said recited Act as declares that the County of Carleton shall form a part of the District of Johnstown; and also the third clause of an Act passed in the second year of His Present Majesty's Reign, entitled, "An Act to Repeal part of an Act passed in the thirty-eighth year of His Late Majesty's Reign, entitled 'An Act for the Better Division of this Province, and to make further Provision for the Division of the same into Counties and Districts,'" be, and the same are hereby Repealed.

- II. And be it further Enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the Townships of Bathurst, Drummond, Beckwith, Dalhousie, Lanark, [Ramsay], Darling, Levant, [North Sherbroke], [South Sherbroke], together with all the unsurveyed lands within the limits of the District of Bathurst, with such of the Islands in the Ottawa River as are wholly, or in greater part, opposite to the said Townships, and unsurveyed laud, shall constitute and form the County of Lanark.
- III. And be it further Enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the Townships of Nepean, Goulbourne [Goulbourn], Huntley, March, Pakenham, Fitzroy, and Torbolton, together with such of the Islands in the Ottawa River as are wholly, or in greater part, opposite thereto, do constitute and form the County of Carleton.— Provided always, That nothing in this Act contained shall extend, or be construed to extend, to give the said Counties of Lanark and Carleton a greater increase of representation in the House of Assembly of this Province than by law the present County of Carleton would be entitled to at the next General Election, but that the said Counties of Lanark and Carleton, formed by this Act, shall be each represented by one Member, any thing in an Act passed in the sixtieth year of His Late Majesty's Reign, entitled, "An Act to Provide for Increasing the Representation of the Commons of this Province in the House of Assembly," to the contrary thereof in any wise notwithstanding.