From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Laws of His Majesty's Province of Upper Canada, passed in the year 1821. York: R. C. Horne, 1821.

2 George IV – Chapter 3

An Act to repeal part of an Act passed in the thirty-eighth year of His late Majesty's Reign, entitled "An Act for the better division of this Province" and to make further provision for the Division of the same into Counties and Districts. Passed 14th April, 1821.

Whereas it is expedient to provide by Law for the better division of the several Townships in this Province into Counties and Districts: Be it therefore enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of the Province of Upper-Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of Great Britain, entitled "An Act to repeal certain parts of an Act passed in the fourteenth year of His Majesty's Reign, entitled 'An Act for making more effectual provision for the Government of the Province of Quebec, in North America, and to make further provision for the Government of the said Province," and by the authority of the same, That the twenty third section of an Act of the Parliament of this Province, passed in the thirty-third year of His late Majesty's Reign, entitled "An Act for the better division of this Province," be and the same is hereby repealed.

II. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That a tract of Land in the Eastern District adjoining to the Townships of Charlottenburgh and Kenyon, lately owned by the St. Regis Indians, shall be attached to the said Townships in the following manner, that is to say, so much of the said tract as adjoins the Township of Charlottenburgh shall constitute and form a part of the said Township: and that the remainder of the said tract shall constitute and form part of the Township of Kenyon.

III. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the Townships of Gouldburn, Beckwith, Drummond, Bathurst, March, Huntly, Ramsay, Lanark, Dalhousie, and Sherbrooke North and South, together with such other Townships as may hereafter be surveyed by direction of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Person administering the Government of this Province, lying within the present limits of the County of Carlton, shall continue and remain the County of Carlton.

IV. Provided always, and be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That it shall and may be lawful for the Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Person administering the Government, and he is hereby authorized to declare by Proclamation, as soon as he may think fit, the said County of Carlton to be a separate District, by such name as to the Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Person administering the Government of this Province may seem meet. Provided also, That nothing in this Act contained shall be construed to affect the jurisdiction of His Majesty's Court of King's Bench in this Province, or to make it necessary or lawful to issue any Commission of Oyer and Terminer and General Gaol Delivery, and Commission of Assize and Nisi Prius, for the said District, or to affect the

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

jurisdiction of the Courts of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace or District Court within the present limits of the District of Johnstown, until provision be made by Law to that effect.

V. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the following Townships in the Midland District shall be attached to and be incorporated with the Counties hereinafter mentioned in manner following, that is to say, the Townships of Oso, Olden and Kennebec to the County of Frontenac, the Township of Kaledar, to the Counties of Lennox and Addington, and the Townships of Elzever, Madoc and Marmora, to the County of Hastings.

VI. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the unattached Townships in the Newcastle District shall be incorporated in manner aforesaid, with the Counties in the said District as follows, that is to say, the Townships of Asphodel, Otanabee, Monaghan and Smith, to be attached to the County of Northumberland, and the Townships of Cavan, Manvers, Cartwright, Emily, Ops, and Mariposa, to the County of Durham.

VII. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the unattached Townships in the Home District shall be incorporated in manner aforesaid with the Counties in the said Home District as follows, that is to say, the Townships of Reach, Brock, Scott, and Georgina shall be attached to the East Riding of the County of York, and that hereafter the following Townships to wit, Chinguacousy, Caledon, Albion, and the Gore of Toronto, be added to the West Riding of York, and that the following Townships shall constitute and form the County of Simcoe, namely, West Gwillimbury, Tecumseth, Adjala, Mono, Amaranth, Luther, Proton, Melancthon, Mulmar, Tosorontio, Essa, Innisfil, Oro, Vespra, Sunnidale, Flos, Medonta, Aurelia, Merlin, Osprey, Artemisia, Alba, Java, Tiny, Tay, Euphrasy, Zero, Matchedash, Thora, Mara, and Ramah.

VIII. Provided, That it shall and may be lawful for the Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Person administering the Government and he is hereby authorized to declare by Proclamation the said County of Simcoe to be a separate District, by such name as to the Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Person administering the Government of this Province may seem meet, under the same provisions, limitations and restrictions, as are herein before provided for the County of Carlton.

IX. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the following Townships, to wit, Esquesing, Erin, Nasagaweya, Eramosa, Garafraxa, and the Church Land, be annexed to the County of Halton.

X. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the Gore of Land in the District of Gore, lying between the Townships of Beverly and Dumfries, be attached to the Township of Beverly, and the Gore lying between Dumfries and Dundas Street, be attached to Dumfries.

XI. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the Gore of Land attached to the Township of Burford, be formed into a separate Township, by the name of the Township

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

of Oakland, and that the said Township of Oakland and the Townships of Nissouri and Zora be added to the County of Oxford, and that hereafter the Townships of Moza, Ecfrid, Carradoc, and Lobo, be added to the County of Middlesex, also that a Gore of Land on the East side of the Township of Norwich, be attached to that Township, and a Gore of Land on the East of the Township of Dorchester be attached to the said Township.

XII. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That the following new Townships in the Western District be attached to the County of Kent, namely, the Townships of Zone, Dawn, Sombra, and Saint Clair.