From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1867. Fredericton, NB: G. E. Fenety, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1867.

30 Victoria – Chapter 26

## An Act to establish additional Polling places in the County of Carleton. Passed 17th June 1867.

Section. Section.

Establishes additional Polling places.
District in Kent.

2. District in Woodstock. 5. Secretary-Treasurer to prepare Lists.

3. District in Simonds. 6. When Act to come in force.

Be it enacted by the Governor, Legislative Council, and Assembly, as follows:—

1. That additional Polling places shall be established in the County of Carleton for the Election of Members to serve in the General Assembly of this Province, at the following places, namely:—

At or near the residence of John Scott in the Parish of Woodstock;

At or near the residence of James N. Moore in the Parish of Simonds; and

At or near the residence of John Boyd in the Parish of Kent.

- 2. All persons entitled to vote within the following District, shall vote at the Polling place at or near the residence of the said John Scott in the Parish of Woodstock, namely, within that portion of the Parish of Woodstock which is south of a dividing line as follows:—Beginning on the western bank of the River Saint John, at the southern side line of Lot J, granted to Richard L. Woods, thence running westerly along the said southern side line of the said Lot J, to the rear line of the first tier of Lots, and thence northerly along the said rear line to the southeastern angle of Lot six, granted to James O'Donnell, in the second tier, and thence westerly along the southern line of said Lot six, to the eastern boundary of the Parish of Richmond; and all persons entitled to vote without the said District shall vote at the Polling places heretofore established by law.
- 3. All persons entitled to vote within that portion of the Parish of Simonds, in the County of Carleton, which is west of a dividing line beginning on the southern boundary of the Parish of Simonds at the point where the eastern boundary of Lot number thirty two, granted to George Drake, in the third tier, strikes the same, thence running northerly along the eastern boundary of the said third tier to the eastern boundary of the grant to Anthony Blaney Walsh, thence northerly along the eastern boundary of the second tier of the Presquile Block, until it strikes the northern boundary of the Parish of Simonds aforesaid, shall vote at the Polling place at or near the residence of James N.

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Moore in the said Parish of Simonds; and all other persons entitled to vote without the said District in the said Parish, shall vote at or near Lakeville Mills.

- 4. All persons entitled to vote within the following District, shall vote at the Polling place at or near the residence of the said John Boyd in the Parish of Kent, within the following boundaries: - Beginning on the boundary line between the Counties of Victoria and Carleton, where the western boundary of the tract of land surveyed for the Emigrant Aid Society, and known as the Johnville Settlement, intersects the same, thence following the various courses of the western boundary of said Johnville Settlement until it comes to the reserved road at the southern side of Lot number two, granted to Bernard M'Kim, thence easterly along the said reserved road to the western boundary of the tract of land known as the Glassville Settlement, thence following the various courses of the said Glassville Settlement northerly to the eastern boundary of range seven in Johnville Settlement tract above mentioned, and thence northerly along the said eastern boundary of range seven, until it comes to the northern boundary of the County of Carleton, and thence westerly along the same to the place of beginning; all persons entitled to vote, who reside in that part of the Parish of Kent which is east of the above described District, shall vote at the Polling place in the Parish of Aberdeen, and all the remaining portion of the Parish of Kent which is west and southwest of the said described District, shall vote at the Polling places already established by law.
- 5. The Secretary-Treasurer of the Municipality of the County of Carleton shall forthwith prepare an Electoral List for those Districts in the said County of Carleton which are by this Act altered or established.
- 6. This Act shall not come into operation and be in force until the first day of January 1868.