From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1853. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1853.

16 Victoria – Chapter 61

An Act to incorporate the District Agricultural Society for the Parishes of Blackville, Blissfield, and Ludlow, in the County of Northumberland. Passed 3rd May 1853.

Be it enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, as follows:—

- 1. That Alexander M'Laggan, John Bergan, Thomas Ward Underhill, Thomas Dunphey, John DeCantillon, James Sangster Mitchell, Hiram Freeze, Moses Hovey, Miles M'Millan, Walter Richard Price, William M'Kay, James Lechmere Price, and all such other persons as are now or may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby erected into a body corporate, under the name and style of The District Agricultural Society for the Parishes of Blackville, Blissfield, arid Ludlow, in the County of Northumberland, for the purpose of promoting and encouraging Agriculture, and rural and domestic enconomy and industry within the said Parishes, and for this purpose shall have and enjoy till general powers made incident to Corporations by Act of Assembly in this Province.
- 2. There shall be a general meeting of the members of the said Corporation, to be annually holden on the first Wednesday in January in each and every year, in the Parish of Blissfield, at which annual meeting there shall be chosen by a majority thereof, one President, three Vice Presidents, a Treasurer, a Secretary, and nine Directors, who shall continue in office one year, or until others are chosen in their room; in the choice of which, each member of the said Corporation shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers.
- 3. The officers chosen at a general meeting of the said Society held at Blissfield, in the said County of Northumberland, for the current year, are hereby declared to be the officers of the said Corporation until the first Wednesday in January next, or until others are chosen in their stead.