From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1852. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1852.

15 Victoria – Chapter 82

An Act to incorporate the Botsford and Westmorland, County of Westmorland, Agricultural Society. Passed 7th April 1852.

Whereas certain inhabitants of the Parishes of Botsford and Westmorland, in the County of Westmorland, did in the year one thousand eight hundred and forty nine form themselves into a Society for the promotion of Agriculture, in the said County, which said Society has been ever since in active and useful operation: And whereas the said Society, from not being incorporated, is subject to many inconveniences, and has, in consequence thereof, been found unable in many instances efficiently to carry out the intentions and promote the object of the Society; Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, as follows:—

- 1. That Alexander Monro, George Dobson, John Blacklock, Thomas Oulton, Joseph Harper, Stephen Gooden, Abel Atkinson, Ephraim Raworth, David Anderson, John Trenholm, Jacob Siliker, and all other such persons as are now or may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby erected into a Body Corporate, under the name and style of The Botsford and Westmorland, County of Westmorland, Agricultural Society, for the purpose of promoting and encouraging agriculture and rural and domestic economy and industry within the said County, and for these purposes shall have and enjoy all general powers made incident to Corporations by Act of Assembly of this Province.
- 2. There shall be a general meeting of the members of the said Corporation to be annually holden on the second Tuesday in October in each and every year, in the Parishes of Botsford and Westmorland alternately, at which annual meeting there shall be chosen, by a majority thereof, one President, two Vice Presidents, a Treasurer, two Secretaries, and nine Directors, who shall continue in office one year, or until others are chosen in their room; in the choice of which each member of the said Corporation shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers, and every member may vote by proxy, provided such proxy be a member, and previously to voting produce a sufficient authority in writing from his constituent or constituents.
- 3. And whereas at a general meeting of the members of the Society hereby incorporated, held at Botsford, in the County of Westmorland aforesaid, one President, two Vice Presidents, a Treasurer, two Secretaries, and nine Directors, were elected by the votes of the said members for the current year; Be it enacted, that the said officers so elected as aforesaid, are hereby declared to be the officers of the said Corporation until the second Tuesday in October next, or until others are chosen in their stead.