From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1852. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1852.

## 15 Victoria – Chapter 6

An Act to annex the Territory awarded to this Province by the New Brunswick and Canadian Arbitrators in the recent settlement or the Boundary question between the Provinces of New Brunswick and Canada, to the Countries of Victoria and Restigouche, and to alter the present Boundary Line between those Counties. Passed 18th February 1852.

Whereas there is by the terms of the award for the settlement of the Boundary between this Province and Canada, made at London, and bearing date the seventeenth day of April the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty one, a tract of land lying to the northwestward of the northwest boundary line of the County of Victoria as heretofore established, which is not sufficiently defined by law to be embraced in any of the Counties of this Province: And whereas it is desirable that the tract of land so awarded to this Province should be included in the Counties of Victoria and Restigouche; and that the present dividing line between those Counties should be altered;

Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, as follows:—

1. So much of the first section of the Act of the General Assembly passed in the thirteenth year of Her present Majesty's Reign, intituled *An Act to consolidate all the Laws now in force for the division of the Province into Counties, Towns and Parishes, which relates to the establishment of the boundary line between the Counties of Victoria and Restigouche, be and the same is hereby repealed.* 

2. From and after the passing of this Act, the boundary line between the Counties of Restigouche and Victoria, shall be a line running north forty five degrees west by the magnet from the northwest angle of the County of Northumberland until it strikes the southern boundary of the Province of Canada, as established by the said award, and confirmed by the Act of the Imperial Parliament of fourteenth and fifteenth Victoria, chapter sixty three.

3. All that part of the territory recently awarded to this Province as aforesaid, which lies to the southwestward of the said dividing line, is hereby annexed to and shall hereafter form part of the County of Victoria; and that part of the said territory which lies to the northeastward of the said dividing line, by this Act established between the Counties of Restigouche and Victoria, is hereby annexed to and shall hereafter form part of the County of Restigouche.

4. From and after the passing of this Act the southwestern boundary of the County of Restigouche as by this Act established, shall be the southwestern boundary of the Parish of Eldon in the said County of Restigouche, any Law or Act to the contrary notwithstanding; and the several portions of the territory hereby annexed to the County of Victoria, which adjoin the Parishes of

From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Saint Basil, Madawaska and Saint Francis, in the said County of Victoria, are hereby respectively annexed thereto, and shall be divided by prolongations of the lines which at present divide those Parishes.