From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1852. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1852.

15 Victoria – Chapter 23

An Act to incorporate the Victoria County Agricultural Society. Passed 18th February 1852.

Whereas Leonard R. Coombes, John Emerson, Henry Baird, Michael Curran, William T. Wilmot, William Clifford, A. W. Raymond, A. B. Hammond, Simond Ballard, Patrick Martin, Benjamin Beveridge, Joseph Cire, Abraham L. Coombes, and others, inhabitants of the County of Victoria, did in the year one thousand eight hundred and forty nine, form themselves into a Society for the promotion of Agriculture in the said County, which said Society has been ever since in active and useful operation: And whereas the said Society, from not being incorporated, is subject to many inconveniences, and has in consequence thereof been found unable, in many instances, effectually to carry out the intentions and promote the objects of the said Society; Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, as follows:—

1. Leonard R. Coombes, John Emerson, Henry Baird, Michael Curran, William T. Wilmot, William Clifford, A. W. Raymond, A. B. Hammond, Simon Ballard, Patrick Martin, Bejamin Beveridge, Joseph Cire, Abraham L. Coombes, and all other such persons as are now or may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, are hereby erected into a Body Corporate, under the name and style of The Victoria County Agricultural Society, for the purpose of promoting and encouraging agriculture, and rural and domestic economy and industry within the said County, and for that purpose shall have and enjoy all general powers made incident to Corporations by Act of Assembly in this Province.

2. There shall be a general meeting of the members of the said Corporation to be annually holden on the third Monday in December in each and every year at the Grand Falls, in the said County, at which annual meeting there shall be chosen, by a majority thereof, one President, three Vice Presidents, a Treasurer and Secretary, who shall continue in office for one year, or until others are chosen in their room, in the choice of which each member of the said Corporation shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers; and every member may vote by proxy, provided such proxy produce a sufficient authority in writing from his constituent or constituents.

3. Whereas at a general meeting of the members of the said Society hereby incorporated, held at the Grand Falls, in the County of Victoria aforesaid, one President, three Vice Presidents, a Treasurer and Secretary, were elected by the votes of the said members, for the current year; Be it therefore enacted, that the said officers so elected shall be and they are hereby declared the officers of the said Corporation until the third Monday in December next, or until others are chosen in their stead.