From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1852. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1852.

15 Victoria – Chapter 21

An Act to incorporate the Westmorland Agricultural and Emigrant Society. Passed 18th February 1852.

Whereas the Honorable William Crane, the Honorable A. E. Botsford, Charles Dixon, Joseph F. Allison, James Dixon, George Oulton, Martin Trueman, John Tingly, S. F. Black, Edward Anderson, Thomas Carter, Charles Cahil, Nathan Lawence, James Anderson, William Hewson, and others, inhabitants and proprietors of land in the Parishes of Sackville and Westmorland, in the County of Westmorland, have formed themselves into a Society for the promotion and advancement of the Science of Agriculture: And whereas it would promote the interests of the said Society, and enable it more effectually to carry out the objects thereof, if the Society were incorporated;

Be it enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, as follows:—

- 1. The Honorable William Crane, the Honorable A. E. Botsford, Charles Dixon, Joseph F. Allison, James Dixon, George Oulton, Martin Trueman, John Tingly, S. F. Black, Edward Anderson, Thomas Carter, Charles Cahil, Nathan Lawrence, James Anderson, William Hewson, and all other persons who are now or may be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, are hereby erected into a Body Corporate, under the name and style of The Westmorland Agricultural and Emigrant Society, for the purpose of promoting and encouraging agriculture, domestic manufactures and industry, and for these purposes shall have and enjoy all the general powers made incident to Corporations by Acts of Assembly of this Province.
- 2. There shall be a general meeting of the said Corporation to be annually holden on the last Tuesday in December in each and every year at Sackville, in the County of Westmorland, at which annual meetings there shall be chosen, by a majority of the members present, duly constituted as such, in accordance with the bye laws of the said Society, a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and five Directors, who shall continue in office for one year, or until others are chosen in their room, in the choice of which each member shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers.
- 3. The President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and five Directors, chosen at a general meeting of the members of the Society hereby incorporated, held at Sackville aforesaid, on the last Tuesday in December last, are hereby declared to be officers of the said Corporation until the last Tuesday in December next, or until others be chosen in their stead.