From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1851. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1851.

14 Victoria – Chapter 19 Private or Personal Acts

## An Act to incorporate the Grand Lake, Queen's County, Agricultural Society. Passed 30th April 1851.

Whereas John Earle, George W. Hobin, Thomas Cox, John Marshall, Gideon D. Bailey, David N. Hanselpecker, Ezekiel Stone, Stephen Thorne, and other inhabitants and land owners in the Parishes of Canning, Waterborough and Chipman, in Queen's County, have formed themselves into a Society for the promotion and improvement of Agriculture in said Parishes, and it would be more beneficial to the interests of said Society, and enable them more effectually to carry out the intention and promote the object thereof, if the said Society were incorporated;

- I. Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, That John Earle, George W. Hobin, and the Directors, and all other persons who are now or who may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby erected into a Body Corporate, under the name and style of The Grand Lake, Queen's County, Agricultural Society, for the purpose of promoting and encouraging Agriculture, and rural and domestic economy and industry within the said Parishes, and for these purposes shall have and enjoy all general powers made incident to Corporations by Act of Assembly of this Province.
- II. And be it enacted, That there shall be a general meeting of the members of said Corporation to be held annually at or near George W. Hobin's, in the said County, on the second Tuesday in October, at which annual meeting there shall be chosen nine Directors, which said Directors, when so elected, shall choose from their body one President, two Vice Presidents, and shall also appoint a Secretary and Treasurer from among the members of the said Society; which said officers when so chosen and appointed, shall continue in office for me year or until others are chosen and appointed in their room, in choice of which Directors each member shall have one vote for each Director.