From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1851. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1851.

14 Victoria – Chapter 17 Private or Personal Acts

An Act to incorporate the County of Kent Agricultural Society. Passed 30th April 1851.

Whereas certain Farmers and other inhabitants of the County of Kent did in the year one thousand eight hundred and fifty, form themselves into a Society for the encouragement of Agriculture in the said County, and they are desirous of being incorporated to enable them more effectually to carry out the objects of the said Society;

- I. Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, That J. G. G. Lavton, John Carruthers, D. M'Almon, John Main, J. C. Wheton, C. W. Weldon, Honorable John W. Weldon, David Wark, W. Brait, John Clark, Thomas Johnson, William Doherty, William M'Leod, L. P. W. Desbrisay, George Pagan, Lawrence M'Larren, John Power, Edward Powell, J. R. Creelman, Sylvanus Powell, Thomas Stennison, John Potter, James Mooney, John Mooney, and James M'Phelim, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby declared to be a Body Corporate, under the name and style of The County of Kent Agricultural Society, for the encouragement of Agriculture, and for this purpose shall have and enjoy all the powers made incident to Corporations by an Act of the General Assembly of this Province made and passed in the sixth year of the Reign of His late Majesty King William the Fourth, intituled An Act to prescribe certain general regulations in respect to Corporations.
- II. And be it enacted, That there shall be a general meeting of the said Corporation annually holden on the second Monday in January in each and every year, at Richibucto, in the said County, at which meeting there shall be chosen by a majority of the members, one President, two Vice Presidents, one Treasurer, two Secretaries, and twelve Directors, who shall continue in office one year or till others are chosen in their room, in the choice of which each member of the Corporation shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers.
- III. And be it enacted, That the officers chosen at a general meeting of the said Society, holden at Richibucto aforesaid, on the second Monday in January 1st, be and they are hereby declared to be the officers of the said Society or Corporation till the second Monday in January next, or till others are chosen in their stead.