From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1848. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1848.

11 Victoria – Chapter 54

An Act to incorporate the Carleton County Agricultural Society. Passed 30th March 1848.

Whereas John Dibblee, Charles Perley, Charles Peabody, James R. Tupper, Charles Emery, Richard English, James Roberstop, Henry E. Dibblee, Elisha A Cunliffe, Gilbert Spurr, James Ketchum, Ralph Ketchum, Joseph Harvey, Benjamin Churchill, and others, inhabitants of the County of Carleton, did in the year one thousand eight hundred and forty, form themselves into a Society for the promotion of Agriculture in the said County, which said Society has been ever since in active and useful operation: And whereas the said Society, from not being incorporated, is subject to many inconveniences, and has in consequence thereof been found unable, in many instances, efficiently to carry out the intentions and promote the object of the Society;

I. Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, That John Dibblee, Charles Perley, James R. Tupper, Charles Emery, Richard English, James Robertson, Gilbert Spurr, Henry E. Dibblee, Elisha A. Cunlifee, James Ketchum, Ralph Ketchum, Joseph Harvey, William J. Baird, Benjamin Churchill, and all other such persons as are now or may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby erected into a Body Corporate, under the name and style of "The Carleton County Agricultural Society," for the purpose of promoting and encouraging Agriculture, and rural and domestic economy and industry within the said County, and for these purposes shall have and enjoy all general powers made incident to Corporations by the Act of the General Assembly of this Province passed in the sixth year of the Reign of His late Majesty King William the Fourth.

II. And be it enacted, That, there shall be a general meeting of the members of the said Corporation, to be annually holden on the Monday next before the last Tuesday in September, in each and every year, at Woodstock, in the said County; at which annual meeting there shall be chosen by a majority thereof, one President, ten Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer and Secretary, who shall continue in office for one year, or until others are chosen in their room; in the choice of which, each member of the said Corporation shall have one vote for each of the aforesaid officers, and that every member may vote by proxy, provided such proxy be a member, and previously to voting, produce a sufficient authority in writing from his constituent or constituents.

III. And whereas at a general meeting of the members of the Society hereby incorporated, held at Woodstock, in the County of Carleton aforesaid, one President, ten Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer and Secretary, were elected by the votes of the said members for the current year; Be it enacted, That the said officers so elected as aforesaid, are hereby declared to be the officers of the said Corporation until the Monday next before the last Tuesday in September next, or until others are chosen in their stead.