From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of Her Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1848. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1848.

11 Victoria – Chapter 53

An Act to incorporate the King's County Central Agricultural Society. Passed 30th March 1848.

Whereas Elias Wetmore, Ebenezer Smith, Alien Otty, Oliver Hallett, George Crawford, Daniel Hatfield, Robert Matthew, Isaac Raymond, Monmouth Fowler, James Fairweather, Sylvester Z. Earle, John Hayes, and others, inhabitants and landowners in the Parishes of Norton and Hampton, in King's County, have formed themselves into a Society for the promotion and improvement of Agriculture in the said Parishes, and it would be more beneficial to the interests of the said Society, and enable them more effectually to carry out the intentions and promote the objects thereof, if the said Society were incorporated;

I. Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, That Eljas Wetmore, Ebenezer Smith, Allen Otty, Oliver Hallett, George Crawford, Daniel Hatfield, Robert Matthew, Isaac Raymond, Monmouth Fowler, James Fairweather, Sylvester Z. Earle, John Hayes, and all such other persons who are now or who may hereafter be admitted members of the said Society, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby erected into a Body Corporate under the name and style of "The King's County Central Agricultural Society," for the purposes of prompting and encouraging Agriculture and rural and domestic economy and industry within the said Parishes, and for these purposes shall have and enjoy all general powers made incident to Corporations by Act of Assembly of this Province.

II. And be it enacted, That there shall be a general meeting of the members of the said Corporation to be annually held on the first Monday in September in each and every year, at Hampton Ferry, in the said County; at which annual meeting there shall be chosen by a majority thereof, six Directors from each Parish; which said Directors when so elected as aforesaid shall choose from their own body, one President, and shall also choose a Vice President for each Parish hereinbefore named; and shall also appoint a Secretary and Treasurer, from among the members of the said Society; which said officers, when so chosen, elected and appointed as aforesaid, shall continue in office for one year, or until others are chosen, elected and appointed in their room; in the choice of which said Directors each member of the said Corporation shall have one vote for each Director, and that every member may vote by proxy, provided such proxy be a member, and previously to voting, produce a sufficient authority in writing from his constituent and constituents.