From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of His Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1837. Fredericton, NB: John Simpson, Printer to the King's Most Excellent Majesty, 1837.

7 William IV – Chapter 35 (Session 1)

An Act to establish a Boundary Line between the Counties of Westmorland and Saint John, and King's and Queen's Counties. Passed 1st March 1837.

'Whereas by an Act made and passed in the twenty seventh year of the reign of His Majesty King George the Third, intituled "An Act in addition to an Act for the better ascertaining and confirming the boundaries of the several Counties within this Province and for the subdividing them into Towns and Parishes," it is enacted that a line due south from the north end of the Portage between Peticodiac and Salmon Brook to the northern boundary of the County of Saint John, and from the said north end of the said Portage due north to the southern boundary of the County of Northumberland, be the dividing line between the Counties of Westmorland and King's and Queen's Counties, any law or ordinance to the contrary notwithstanding: And whereas doubts exist as to the north end of the said Portage, and it is expedient to define the division line more clearly between the counties of Westmorland and Saint John, and King's and Queen's Counties, for remedy whereof,'

I. Be it enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Legislative Council and Assembly, That a line commencing at a birch tree on the north shore of the Bay of Fundy, thirty chains to the eastward of Goose River so called, thence following the line run from the said birch tree by Deputy Surveyor Stiles in the autumn of the year one thousand eight hundred and thirty six, a course north by the magnet of that year, and a prolongation of such line northwardly until it intersects the southern boundary line of the County of Kent or Northumberland, as the case may be, be the dividing line between the Counties of Wesmorland and Saint John and King's and Queen's Counties, any law or ordinance to the contrary notwithstanding.

II. And be it enacted, That all the lands which may be to the eastward of the said line, and which before the passing of this Act formed a part of the said County of Saint John shall be included in and form a part of the Parish of Hopewell, in the County of Westmorland, to all intents and purposes whatsoever.