From: British North America Legislative Database; University of New Brunswick bnald.lib.unb.ca

Acts of the General Assembly of His Majesty's Province of New-Brunswick passed in the year 1787. Saint John, NB: J. Ryan, 1787.

27 George III – Chapter 7

An Act in Addition to an Act For the better ascertaining and confirming the Boundaries of the several Counties within this Province, and for Subdividing them into Towns or Parishes.

I. Be it enacted, by the Lieutenant-Governor, Council and Assembly, That all that Tract of Land in the county of Westmorland, beginning fifteen chains east of a creek about two miles south of Memramcook river, thence northerly on the western line of the town of Sackville to Chediac [Shediac] harbour, including the Island, thence west on the north line of said county, as far as the east line of the Town of Mention, thence down said line and the other river Peteudiach [Petitcodiac], to the first mentioned bounds, be one district, town and parish, distinguished by the name of the town and parish of Dorchester. That all that tract of land to the west of the town of Hillsborough and Moncton extending the width of the same county, as far as the Portage, between Peteudiach and Salmon brook, be one town and parish distinguished and known by the town and parish of Salisbury.

II. And be it further enacted, That a line due south from the north end of the said Portage to the northern boundary of the county of St. John, and from the said north end of the said Portage due north to the southern boundary of the county of Northumberland, be the dividing line between the county of Westmorland, and the counties of King's and Queen's, any law or ordinance to the contrary notwithstanding.