CAP. XVII.

An Act to divide the Parish of Kent, in the County of Carleton, into Five Towns or Parishes.

Passed 19th March 1833.

Preamble.

'WHEREAS the Parish of Kent, in the 'County of Carleton, is so extensive and populous 'as to render the Performance of the Duties of 'the Parish Officers therein inconvenient and burthensome;'

Parish of Kent divided into Five Parishes.

Be it enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Council and Assembly, That the said Parish of Kent shall be and the same is hereby divided into Five Towns or Parishes; which Towns or Parishes shall be and hereby are named and bounded in the Manner herein after mentioned and described, any Law to the contrary notwithstanding:

Boundaries of Kent, The First Town or Parish to be called, known and distinguished by the Name of Kent, and to be abutted and bounded as follows: Southerly, by the Northern boundary Line of the Parish of Brighton; Westerly, by the River Saint John; Northerly, by a Line running due East from the said River Saint John, at the Division Line between the Lots Numbers Forty and Forty one, granted to John Marro, nearly opposite to the Mouth of the River De Chute; and Easterly, by the boundary Line of the said County of Carleton.

Wicklow,

The Second Town or Parish to be called, known and distinguished, by the Name of Wicklow, and to be abutted and bounded as follows: Southerly, by the Northern boundary Line of the Parish of Wakefield; Easterly, by the River Saint John; Northerly, by the River De Chute, following the Course of the said River to the boundary Line of the said County; and Westerly, by the boundary Line of the said County of Carleton.

The Third Town or Parish to be called, known and distinguished, by the Name of Perth, and to be abutted and bounded as follows: Southerly, by the Northern boundary Line of the said Parish

Perth,

A. D. 1833

of Kent; Westerly, by the River Saint John; Northerly, by a Line running due East from the Mouth of Little River, where it empties into the River Saint John; and Easterly, by the boundary Line of the said County of Carleton.

The Fourth Town or Parish to be called, known Andover. and distinguished, by the Name of Andover, and to be abutted and bounded as follows: Southerly, by the River De Chute aforesaid; Easterly, by the River Saint John; Northerly, by a Line running due West from the Point which divides the Grant to Alexander Stewart and the Military Reserve on the River Saint John; and Westerly, by the boundary Line of the said County of Carleton.

The Fifth Town or Parish to embrace all that Madawaska. Part of the said County of Carleton, which lies to the Northward of the said Two last described Towns or Parishes, on both Sides of the River Saint John, and to be called, known and distinguished, by the Name of Madawaska.

CAP. XVIII.

An Act further to amend the Act relating to the Support and Relief of confined Debtors.

Passed 19th March 1898.

I. BE it enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Council and Assembly, That it shall and may be Mayor or Rocorlawful for either the Mayor or Recorder of the of Saint John City of Saint John to carry into Execution the may execute the several Provisions of the Act for the Support and confined Debts Relief of confined Debtors, and the several Acts ois. in Amendment and Continuation thereof, as fully and completely as any Two Justices of any of the Inferior Courts of Common Pleas for the several Counties of this Province, might or could do by virtue of the several Acts aforesaid.

II. 'And whereas no Judge of His Majesty's 'Supreme

der of the City Laws relative to